CAGU U18s achieve best league ever wins

Following on from their historic win against Nottinghamshire (CAGU 9 – 6 Notts), a changed but equally strong side travelled to Gainsborough in North Lincolnshire to take on the reigning league champions and Leicestershire in a triangular match.

The weather on the day left a lot to be desired with a stiff northerly breeze ensuring tough and cold conditions prevailed. However, the boys were warmed by the strength of their support, with many parents staying over night to cheer them on.


The Boys got off to a tremendous start in the foursomes and despite their underdog status they quickly took control of proceeding and through 9 holes were winning all 10 matches. However, a perfect sheet could not be maintained and despite a heroic effort, the in-form pair of Whitehall and O’Shea finally went 1 down in our only loss of the morning against the very
experienced paring of Craddock and Philips, leaving the score:

Leicestershire 0 – 5 Cambridgeshire

Lincolnshire 1 – 4 Cambridgeshire

In the afternoon singles the boys struggled to maintain their dominance and the front of the field failed to win any points from the first 3 matches in each triangular. However a strong showing from the back of the field including debutants Josh Izod (SWGC) and Leo Bonser (SWGC) ensured that CAGU held onto their lead from their early dominance. The singles finished:

Lincolnshire 5 ½ – 4 ½ Cambridgeshire

Leicestershire 5 – 5 Cambridgeshire

Final score

Lincolnshire 6 ½ – 8 ½ Cambridgeshire

Leicestershire 5 – 10 Cambridgeshire

With 3 out of 3 wins the boys are now targeting winning the league by hopefully maintaining their unbeaten status when they take on Northamptonshire on the 21st of July at St Ives. Spectators and supporters would be warmly welcomed to cheer the U18 boys onto what might be their first ever league win.


Owen Meeds (St Neots)
Alfie Guy-Pinkney (Ely City)
George Whitehall (Links)
Harry O Shea (Links)
Axel Friberg (Gog Magog)
Sam Hindmarsh (Brampton Park)
Jake Plumb (Gog Magog)
Lucas Bickers (Thorpe Wood)
Leo Bonser (Saffron Walden)
Josh Izod (Saffron Walden)