The David Milburn Order of Merit Finals

The David Milburn Order of Merit Finals took place yesterday on a beautiful sunny day at the Ely City Golf Club.

Leading going into the final was Ed Dimambro of Gog Magog who had led the table for most of the year with his strong performances in the County Championship and Gogs Trophy. Close behind him, trailing by only 50 points was his Club colleague Tom Rogers who this season has come on strongly to become one of the County’s best golfers.

Last year’s winner Owen Davies of Brampton Park in 3rd place, still had a chance to retain his title with a win on the day if the other results went his way and the top two finished out of the top 5 in this 18 hole medal final.

Sponsorship for next season is given to the top 5 in the merit table and occupying 4th and 5th spots before the final round were Danny Loveday of St Neots and George Howard of Gog Magog.

Thanks to the generosity of Sponsor David Milburn of Lakeside Lodge the lucky competitors were also playing for £400 of prizes awarded for this one-off finals round. These included the best score from an under 21 years of age player and a best over 55 (Seniors Prize).

After 9 holes Owen Davies who was out in 35, had moved to the top of the table, closely followed by George Howard who had the best outward half of 34 shots. Ed Dimambro and Tom Rogers, both out in 38 had slipped to 3rd and 4th places respectively, with Danny Loveday comfortably holding on to his 5th place after being out in a one under par 35.


Paul Hodgkin who was out in level par came home in one under for a fine round of 71 which was the best of the day and moved him up from 14th in the standing to 4th and well earned sponsorship of £150 for next year. On top of this he won a voucher for £100 for the best scratch score.

Unfortunately Owen Davies’s lack of golf in recent weeks finally caught up with him and 5 bogeys on the back nine holes put paid to his hopes of retaining his title and he finished with a 76 and 5th place overall.

This left the door open for Dimambro and Rogers who were playing alongside Davies. Unfortunately Tom had two disastrous 7’s on his back nine holes and he slumped to an 80 and 3rd place in the overall table.

George Howard was cruising along at three under par until a card wrecking triple bogey 8 at the 13th put paid to his chances of victory. He did however card a 73 which earned him enough points to finish runner up in the Order of Merit and sponsorship for £250.

Last year’s County Champion Ed Dimambro knuckled down on the back nine and with some superb chipping, ended up with a 74 which gave him enough points to become the winner of the David Milburn Order of Merit for 2018.

The prize winners on the day were as follows:-

Best Senior John Yuill of Links, Newmarket 79
Best under 21 yrs Callum Brookes of Saffron Walden 74
Best Gross Paul Hodgkin of Ramsey 71
2nd Gross George Howard of Gog Magog 73
3rd Gross Craig Thorburn 74 of Ramsey – after card play off
4th Gross Ed Dimambro of Gog Magog 74 – after card play off
5th Gross Ollie Wright 74

Also presented on the day was the Sharplin Bowl, awarded to the player who won most points for the County A and B teams in the Anglian League. This was won this year by Gog Magog’s Tom Rogers with 5.5 points.

Next year’s David Milburn Order Of Merit will take place at the St Ives Golf Club on the 13th October.